Priority shift

So….After my first failed attempt….. I passed my instruction permit test! Yaaaaaaay! 

Look at me. 30 years old and I don’t know how to drive. I’m basically a hag for crying out loud!

Driving was never a priority in the past but now I can’t escape it. I think maybe there was a part of me that eluded the very idea of having to learn how to drive which is why I never even bothered to do it when I was living in KL. I’ll tell you one thing though, I never at any time felt that I was missing out by not driving or having a car. Commuting in KL was so easy, I think I practically saved money by not driving.
For the last couple of months or so, I’ve poured through pages and pages of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual and tried to soak up as much information as I possibly could. What I’ve found is there’s so much I had to learn about the American road laws and signs and frikkin everything! 

Although I wasn’t driving in Malaysia, I spent just as much time in cars as most people and I observed enough to know the laws and dos and donts. The basic laws are generally the same but cars drive on a different side of the road and terms like ‘overtake’ and ‘flyover’ are known as ‘passing’ and ‘ramp’. My poor husband had to listen to me bitch and whine about all this American jargon that I’ve yet to be accustomed to. He very patiently explains and clarifies anything I have problems understanding and when I’m really annoying, he subtly suggests I take a break off studying for the night. I seriously love that man.

My first attempt at the instruction permit test was a bust. I was a little too cocky I think. I woke up early, finished the test in like 10 mins and I ended up with so many wrong answers to the point where I just wanted to crawl into my bag and disappear. OK OK fine. Dramatic. I know. I guess I just wanted to get it over with. Driving is now a priority for me. I wanna drive so I can work and so I don’t have to rely on my husband for every single thing. Bless that man seriously. He never says no to me or refuses to take me anywhere I need/want to go. I’m lucky, seriously I am. 

However, I’m hungry for the chance to do these things on my own. I’m craving to be independent even though I adore taking care of my husband and our home. Staying home and living off someone’s money just isn’t me. I wanna feel good about being my own person. I don’t want him to see me as someone he needs to constantly take care of. (And I know he doesn’t see it that way). It’s not easy to accomplish when public commute isn’t as accessible at certain times of the day. So…… The next adventure begins soon. Learning how to drive. Oh my.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

